Webpage Banner Sponsors GEA

The Green Energy Award Winners 2023

Winners have been announced in six award categories at the twentieth annual Green Energy Awards, hosted by Regen and sponsored by Roadnight Taylor and Bristol City Leap.

The awards are a leading national celebration of the pioneering companies and inspiring people transforming the UK’s energy system. Out of more than 120 entries submitted this year by companies, communities and individuals across the UK, 29 were shortlisted for their outstanding efforts.

A key theme of the awards ceremony hosted in Bristol last night was the critical role of the clean energy sector in leading the UK’s transition to net zero by 2035 and providing resilient and affordable power.

Merlin Hyman, Regen chief executive, said: Now in their twentieth year, the Green Energy Awards recognise the people and projects leading the UK’s transition to net zero energy. Decarbonising our energy system is a major challenge, but the inspiring achievements of all the nominees show what is achievable with the right framework.”

The winners in each of the six categories, chosen by a distinguished judging panel, were as follows:

  • Net Zero Energy Pioneer – Dr Irene Di Martino, co-founder and leader of Amp-X
  • Whole Energy System Innovation – National Grid ESO for their Demand Flexibility Service
  • Net Zero Energy Developer – Thrive Renewables
  • Community Energy Initiative – Energise Sussex Coast
  • Public Sector Local Leadership – Hampshire County Council
  • Clean Energy Scheme – Keele University, for their Smart Energy Network Demonstrator and Low Carbon Energy Generation Park

Clean Energy Scheme Award Winner 2023

Keele University – Smart Energy Network Demonstrator (SEND)

The clean energy scheme award commends projects that are spearheading the clean energy industry and delivering significant carbon savings.

Keele University’s project incorporates 12,300 solar panels (4.4 MW), two wind turbines (1.7 MW), and an industrial-sized battery, linked to an advanced smart energy system. It includes two of the few onshore wind turbines approved in England in recent years and is the first site in the UK to combine solar, wind and battery assets.

Community Energy Initiative Award Winner 2023

Energise Sussex Coast

The community energy initiative award recognises the role of inspiring community energy groups across the UK supporting the transition to a more democratic and decentralised energy system.

Energise Sussex Coast has worked to tackle fuel poverty for 11 years. Last year, their energy advice service helped 860 struggling households to save an average of £409 on energy costs per household. The group has also helped local communities and businesses deliver a wide range of community-owned solar projects.

Net Zero Energy Developer Award Winner 2023

Sponsored by Bevan Brittan LLP

Thrive Renewables

The net-zero energy developer award recognises the achievements of developers bringing forward the renewable electricity, heat and/or transport projects required to achieve net-zero energy.

Thrive has funded and/or built 32 projects, including hydro, solar, battery storage, geothermal, tidal, renewable heat and England’s largest onshore wind turbine. These projects have generated over two million MWh – enough to power over 508,000 average UK homes, reducing emissions by 917,517 tCO2e, and providing annual community-benefit funding of £30,000.

Net Zero Energy Pioneer Award Winner 2023

Sponsored by TLT LLP

Dr Irene Di Martino

The net-zero energy pioneer award recognises the achievements of the inspiring individuals making a real difference to the development of a net zero energy system.

Irene is the co-founder and leader of Amp X, a disruptive digital energy platform pioneering artificial intelligence and autonomy to unlock grid-edge flexibility. Irene started her career working on coal power stations, so her development into a net zero energy pioneer with over 20 years of experience epitomises the industry’s decarbonisation journey.

Public Sector Local Leadership Award Winner 2023

Sponsored by Equans

Hampshire County Council

The public sector local leadership award recognises the crucial role the public sector plays in transforming the UKs energy system for a zero-carbon future, both through ambitious policy frameworks and inspiring projects.

Hampshire County Council has established a new Directorate – Hampshire 2050 – devoted to the Authority’s strategic progress including its goal to be net zero by 2050. The Authority’s strategic, evidence-based approach to developing a net zero local energy system has residents at its heart and brings a partnership approach that amplifies the benefits of community action while encouraging peer-to-peer learning.

Whole Energy System Innovation Award Winner 2023

Sponsored by GA Energy

National Grid ESO (Demand Flexibility Service)

The whole energy system innovation award recognises the role of innovative technology, products and services in the development of the whole energy system for a zero-carbon future.

The DFS allows the ESO to access additional flexibility when the national demand is at its highest – during peak winter days – which is not currently accessible in real-time. This new innovative service allows consumers, as well as some industrial and commercial users (through suppliers/aggregators), to be incentivised for voluntarily ‘flexing’ when they use their electricity.

For more information on the awards and further opportunities, please contact Emma Madray at emadray@regen.co.uk and Hannah Stanley at hstanley@regen.co.uk

Find out more here.

Stay informed

Sign up to the Regen newsletter to receive a monthly digest of our work to revolutionise the UK energy system, and industry insights.

We take care of your personal data. We will only contact you according to your preferences and will NEVER share or sell your details. See our privacy policy for more information